Announcement of Women’s College World Series Matchups: The 2023 NCAA Softball Tournament Regional Journey Begins

Oklahoma City has won the NCAA softball championship for two consecutive seasons. As the teams compete to participate in the Women’s Collegiate World Series, sixty-four teams from across the country are vying for a spot in the U.S. Softball Hall of Fame stadium, with the competition starting on June 1st. Regional and Super-Regional Rounds will determine the eventual winners, with the former adopting a double-elimination format, while the latter a best-of-three series.

The winner of back-to-back championships, Oklahoma, will be looking to defend their title yet again. The Sooners, who won the Big 12 and have an incredible 51-1 record, have not lost a match since February, except for a single loss against Baylor, where the score line was 4-3. Additionally, with the stadium situated around 40 miles from the Oklahoma campus, it’s virtually their second home.

Amidst fierce competition, it’ll be interesting to see which team emerges victorious and writes their names into history as the seventh team to win the NCAA softball championship. Watch NCAA Softball Games Live on Fubo (FREE TRIAL).

The NCAA Softball regional selections were covered live by Sporting News. There are sixteen regional sites where the teams will battle for a chance to make it to the Women’s Collegiate World Series. Norman, Oklahoma; Los Angeles, California; Tuscaloosa, Alabama; Knoxville, Florida; and Stillwater, Oklahoma, are among these sites. Each of the 16 regions has four participating teams, meaning they compete in a double-elimination format in the regional stage.

The number one seed of this year’s tournament is the University of Oklahoma, played as part of a bracket with 64 teams. The top team in each region will play against the fourth team, while the second team will take on the third team in the first game. Participating teams include Missouri, California, Hofstra, San Diego, Liberty, Grand Canyon, UCF, South Carolina, Marist, Louisville, Indiana, Northern Kentucky, Central Tennessee, Central Arkansas, LIU, Nebraska, Wichita, UMBC, McNeese, Minnesota, Northern Colorado, Campbell, Charlotte, George Mason, Loyola Marymount, Florida Long Beach, Ole Miss, Baylor, Southern Illinois, California State University Fullerton, Auburn and UNC Greensboro.

Leave a Reply