Lemont’s Student Business Leaders Achieve State Recognition and Beyond – Chicago Tribune.

Lemont High School’s Future Business Leaders of America chapter achieved great success at the 2023 FBLA State Leadership Conference, ranking in the top 10 of 11 out of the 14 events held. Students placed in the top four of their competitions, with several qualifying for the 2023 FBLA National Leadership Conference. Notable performers include Natalia Zagata and Vikram Oberai, who both placed fourth, Ethan Bator, Danny Drobnic, and Krystian Kozieja, who placed fourth overall in computer games and simulation programming, and Russell Daniloff and Ali Nabulsi, who earned Sales Presentation. Other medalists include Lauren Meyer, Mallory Kors, Addison Duvall, Ahmad Yaagob, and Joey Fiore.

Zachary Hoehn, a mechanical engineering major, was recently inducted into the Order of the Engineer at Trine University’s Allen School of Engineering and Computing. Meanwhile, Shawna Gordon received The Dean’s Purchase Award in Art at the 2023 Mount Union Honors Convocation for her outstanding achievement in art. In addition, Homewood-Flossmoor Park District has appointed Doug Boehm as its new Executive Director, succeeding Debbie Kopas who is retiring in June after over 30 years with the HFPD.

Several students from the Southern Suburbs have been recognized for their academic achievements. Dominic Donegan from Midlothian was nominated for the 2023 class of the Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society, while Addison Winter of Lockport was inducted into the University of Alabama’s Omicron Delta Kappa Honor Society. IASD Administrator of the Year Award recipient Dr. Mary Ticknor credits the success to the collaborative efforts of the Lemont High School administration team, staff, and school board. Finally, various individuals from nearby towns have been accepted to universities such as Iowa State University, Bradley University, and Western Illinois University.

Leave a Reply