• Thu. Sep 28th, 2023

News Eyeo

All Important News

Officials for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 announced


Sep 8, 2023

All umpires from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires have been selected to officiate in the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India. The league stage of the tournament will be overseen by a total of 20 match officials. The officials for the semi-finals and final will be announced later during the tournament. Out of the 20 officials, 12 are from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, including Christopher Gaffaney, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Michael Gough, Nitin Menon, Paul Reiffel, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Rodney Tucker, Joel Wilson, Ahsan Raza, and Adrian Holdstock.

The remaining four match officials belong to the ICC Emerging Umpire Panel and are Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid, Paul Wilson, Alex Wharf, and Chris Brown. This experienced group of officials includes three umpires – Dharmasena, Erasmus, and Tucker – who officiated in the Cricket World Cup 2019 final. Aleem Dar, who was also involved in that final, will not be officiating in this World Cup as he stepped down from the Elite Panel earlier this year.

The Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees for the event consists of Jeff Crowe, Andy Pycroft, Richie Richardson, and Javagal Srinath. All four match referees are former international players. The match officials for the tournament opener between England and New Zealand have already been announced. Menon and Dharmasena will serve as the on-field umpires, while Paul Wilson will be the TV umpire and Sharfuddoula will be the fourth umpire. Pycroft will be the match referee for the match.

Sean Easey, ICC Senior Manager – Umpires and Referees, expressed his confidence in the selected officials, stating that they are the best from around the world and are prepared for the challenging task ahead. He wished them the best of luck for the tournament. Wasim Khan, ICC General Manager – Cricket, also praised the officials, highlighting their skills, experience, and world-class standards that they will bring to the World Cup.

Khan was particularly pleased with the inclusion of ICC Emerging Panel members in the event, emphasizing the rigorous selection procedure and the development of high-quality match officials in the game. He wished all the match officials involved the best for the tournament. The list of umpires for the World Cup includes Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Adrian Holdstock, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nitin Menon, Ahsan Raza, Paul Reiffel, Sharfuddoula Ibne Shaid, Rod Tucker, Alex Wharf, Joel Wilson, Chris Brown, and Paul Wilson. The match referees are Jeff Crowe, Andy Pycroft, Richie Richardson, and Javagal Srinath.

By Editor

Leave a Reply