Previewing the NAIA Baseball World Series

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NAIA) is about to begin the 66th Baseball World Series at Harris Field in Kansas City, Missouri. The World Series is comprised of a 10-team double-elimination tournament, and the winning team will be awarded a red banner by June 2nd. Seeding was decided by the NAIA Baseball National Select Committee (NSC), which consists of one representative from each region, a representative from the National Administrative Council (NAC) Postseason Selection and Evaluation Committee, the president of the NAIA Baseball Coaches Association, and three general members. Throughout the year, the committee evaluated various teams based on numerous criteria.

Game 1 of the series will feature No. 7 seed Taylor (Indiana) and No. 10 seed Mid-America Nazarene (Kansas). The Trojans are joining the series for the first time in 54 years, while the Pioneers are back for the second year in a row and searching for their first win in program history. The first pitch for this game is scheduled for 8:35 a.m. Pacific Time.

Game 2 is scheduled to begin at 11:35 a.m. PT and will see two teams competing for their first World Series victory. No. 3-seeded Westmont, Calif., will return for a second time, while the Patriots of Cumberlands, Kentucky, will be making their debut in Lewiston. The afternoon game is set to start at 3:05 p.m. and will feature William Carey (Michigan) Crusaders and the Bellevue (Nevada) Bruins. WCU has qualified for the World Series three times now, and Bellevue has made 16 appearances. Both teams have previously earned Red Banners.

Lewis-Clark State University (Idaho) will host Indiana Wesleyan in a nightcap game at 7:05 p.m. following a parade of champions on the field. The Warriors have won 19 titles, and the Wildcats are making it to the championship round for the first time in program history.

If a team loses on Friday, May 26, they will play an elimination game the next morning and must win if they want to continue their championship objective. No. 2 seed Georgia Gwinnett will play Taylor, while the winner of MNU will face Indiana Wesleyan, both games taking place on May 27th at 3:05 p.m. Pacific Standard Time.

All 19 games of the 2022 World Series will be broadcasted on NAIA, the official video streaming platform of the NAIA National Championship event powered by Stretch Internet. An All-World Series Package can be purchased for $34.95, and a Day Package can be purchased for $9.95. ESPN3 will air Games 16-19.

Leave a Reply