• Tue. Jun 11th, 2024

Teams of the Year Recognized at Iowa High School Sports Awards


Jun 11, 2024

The Southeast Polk football team and the Dike-New Hartford volleyball team were honored as the Boys and Girls Teams of the Year at the Iowa High School Sports Awards presented by SCHEELS. The event took place at Hoyt-Sherman place in Des Moines and recognized over 250 Iowa student-athletes. The Boys and Girls Teams of the Year were sponsored by Cookies Food Products.

Southeast Polk has been building a dynasty, winning three state titles in three years. Their latest championship came this past season when they defeated Ankeny in the Class 5A state championship game. With only two losses in the past three years, Southeast Polk went 14-0 this season, solidifying themselves as one of the best teams in Iowa’s largest classification. They became the 33rd school in state history to win three or more state titles and the eighth to win three in a row.

Dike-New Hartford volleyball had a dominant season, finishing with a perfect 50-0 record. They only dropped one set all season, against 5A state finalist Dowling Catholic. Led by the Petersen twins, Payton and Jadyn, the team won the state final against Hinton, capturing their first state championship since 2021. Their average margin of victory was over 11 points per set, establishing themselves as one of the greatest teams in Iowa state history.


Leave a Reply