Track and Field at the University of Minnesota

Athlon Sports has recently announced its 2023 All-Big Ten team, and nine Golden Gophers have been honored. The team is comprised of five offensive players, three defensive players and one special-teams player. Among the honorees are Brevin Spann-Ford, Chris Oatman-Bell, Quinn Carroll, Tyler Nubin, Justin Worley, Quentin Redding, Daniel Jackson, Sean Tyler and Jaylen Logan Redding.

Blevin Spann-Ford, Chris Oatman-Bell and Quinn Carroll were named to the first, second and second teams, respectively, for the offense. Spann-Ford led the Gophers last year with 42 receptions and was named a preseason All-American for the 2023 season. Oatman-Bell appeared in the first three games of the 2022 season but was sidelined with an injury. Carroll joined the Gophers from Notre Dame and started all 13 games for the team last season.

Tyler Nubin was placed on the second-team defense after posting impressive numbers last season. He returns for his final year at Dinky Town, and hopes to build on his strong performance from last season, where he recorded 55 tackles and added four interceptions. Justin Worley was named to the third-team defense and made 39 tackles with three interceptions, two passes broken down, one forced fumble and one recovered fumble in the 2022 season.

Quentin Redding was named third-team specialist as the team’s main kick-and-punt returner last season, and he finished second in all-around yards with 586. Rounding out the honorees were Daniel Jackson and Sean Tyler, who were both selected for the fourth-team offense, and Jaylen Logan Redding, who was named to the fourth-team defense.

Minnesota opens the season against Nebraska on Thursday, August 31, and season tickets are currently on sale, as well as the popular Gopher Pass.

Leave a Reply