• Sun. Apr 21st, 2024

News Eyeo

All Important News

Which countries acknowledge the state of Palestine?


Apr 3, 2024

The Palestinians have received recognition as a state from a majority of countries around the world, with 137 out of 193 UN states expressing support. However, countries in Western Europe, North America, Australia, Japan, and South Korea have not recognized Palestine. In an effort to expedite the process, the Spanish Prime Minister has indicated a desire for Spain to formally recognize a Palestinian state by summer.

The Palestinian state was declared in 1988 by Yasser Arafat, with support from countries such as China, India, Turkey, and Arab nations. Over time, more countries in Africa, the Soviet bloc, Central America, and Latin America recognized Palestine. The Palestinians gained observer state status at the UN in 2012, granting them access to international organizations.

Sweden was the first EU country to recognize Palestine in 2014, followed by several other EU members. This move created tensions with Israel, leading to stormy relations. Other European countries, including Spain and France, are considering following Sweden’s lead. In 2021, Spanish and other European leaders expressed readiness to recognize Palestine under the right circumstances.

Alongside diplomatic efforts, the Palestinians have gained membership in organizations like UNESCO and the International Criminal Court. These developments have been met with criticism from the US and Israel. Despite challenges, the Palestinians continue to pursue international recognition and support for their statehood aspirations.

By editor

Leave a Reply