Overview of Sports in the State

The University of Arkansas offered a scholarship to Harding Academy linebacker Wyatt Simmons, making him the tenth in-state contender in the 2024 class to receive an offer from the Hogs. At 6-3 and weighing 215 pounds, Simmons received multiple offers from different universities like Florida State University, Oklahoma State University, Mississippi State University, Auburn University, SMU, UAB, and Southern Miss State after he posted his Junior Highlights on May 5. He recorded 84 tackles, 15 tackle losses, 6 sacks, and 1 interception in the previous year. In addition, Simmons had 12 rushes for 61 yards and 1 touchdown, and two catches for 109 yards and 2 touchdowns. His father, Paul Simmons, is the head football coach of Harding University.

Little Rock School District board hired Conway’s assistant coach Anthony Robinson as the new football coach of Little Rock Central to replace George Shelton, who retired after the Tigers’ 0-10 season. Robinson, who served as the special teams coordinator, wide receiver coach, and pass game coordinator of Conway since 2020, previously assisted teams in Magnolia, Texas, Searcy, Lancaster. He also played four years at Arkansas State University and served as a graduate assistant for the 2011 season.

Arkansas State University’s Aymar Palma Simo claimed the gold medal and followed the Sunbelt Conference Champion title for the hammer throw at the SBC Outdoor Championships in Myrtle Beach. Simo threw for 224 feet and 3 inches, and the Red Wolves finished day one in second place on the team with 21 points. The university finished second in both the men’s and women’s 10,000m events, with Javy Schfelberger and Jacob Pyatt taking silver. Camryn Newton-Smith and Colby Eddowes also placed in other events. In the javelin, Izzy Danes finished eighth, while Lauren Beauchamp and Vera Cosetti placed fourth and fifth in the pole vault. Arkansas State University also had four men and four women qualify for Saturday’s final in the 1500m, led by Pauline Meyer and Hannes Farr. Jonae Cook and Jamie Walker were also qualifiers in their respective events.

Leave a Reply